An interview with Wellington “Ton” Caruso

I’ve talked to Wellington for a little under a year, about CS and whatnot. Our conversations have been incredibly interesting. I decided to accept

First off, can you introduce yourself to those who might be unaware who you are?

First of all, thank you Tiger for the opportunity and space to talk a little about me and my career.I am known as “ton”, was player cs 1.6, exercised AWPer function / second AWPer and at times even assault [fragger]. I played in great teams, most famously in legendary Made in Brazil or as few mibr.

You played with fnx, who is now in Luminosity Gaming, the best CS:GO team in the world. How was he in game then, and what is your opinion of the Luminosity lineup right now?

Good question. Lincoln was always promising, its 12 years, already destroying all the maps in the lan houses in the interior of São Paulo. His aim has always been the flagship, he has an absurdly good shot. He no doubt is a member of the top 3 cs players of Brazil.

About LG, I do not have much to comment on, Fallen is by far one of the best AWPers the world. Coldzera is something surreal. Fer, always calm, knowing what you have to do. Lincoln the clutchmeister. Taco, everyone  talks shit about him, but without him, the LG system would never work. They are the best team in the world by merit, and lots of hard work.

Who was the hardest team to face from your experiences in CS 1.6 with any of your lineups?

No doubt, all SK and fnatic teams. SpawN in SK easily one of the best players ever, his knowledge about the game, well I can’t describe it…In fnatic, the living legend f0rest, one of my favourite player ever, he just can do everything in the game, can play every role… That’s why, FNATIC and SK were the best team, imo.

What is your philosophy on how you played 1.6, in terms of gameplay and tactics?

Honestly I was never to be thinking about the games before they happen. I adapted to the style of play of their opponents. It did not matter against who it was, I just focused in on killing the CTs or TRs. I think for people who do not know me, they saw me play, I would define my playstyle very similar to the Fallen, offensive CT, and always trying to seek entry kill the terrorist side. Anyway, I believe I could not play the same way today.

Recently, Brazillian teams followed Luminosity in coming to NA, such as WinOut and Immortals, have you ever considered a comeback in CS:GO?

I tried once again playing with the former mibr player LANCE. But, I do not have the same desire to stay 12 hours in front of the screen of a computer training to play. It may not seem that way, but it is very stressful. I play CS:GO just for fun.

Many people consider cogu the best Brazillian player of all time. What is your opinion of him, both in terms of in game skill and as a teammate?

A good player, but I think he  isn’t the best Brazilian of all time.His potential in game was always absurd. And as teammate he was good, I have not much to say about him. Everybody knows his legacy.

A fact that I believe most people do not know is that cogu decided to stop playing cs 1.6 at the time to devote to football and try to become a professional player. I believe that his career ended there after that first retirement from CS, he tried again and again. He became coach of a CS female team, to announce its entry in CS:GO in 2012, with the team pGTD (ZQK’s team), he played ESWC and as soon as he returned to Brazil, stopped playing again. I do not take his reason, until then the Brazilian scene was dead. He tried to play DOTA 2 professionally, lasted a few months, then returned to play CS:GO and is there today, but without the same success of the previous version.

What is your dream 5 man Brazillian line-up from CS 1.6 and why?

Fnx – the best aim.

Bit1 – the best teammate.

Ton – the best AWPer (hahahah)

FalleN – great leader.

BTT* – love this guy.

gAuLeS – coach.

In your opinion, out of all the CPL’s, Dreamhack 2007, IEM’s and other tournaments, what was your best or most valuable tournament you have been to?

DreamHack, everybody wants to be a DH CHAMPION.

Any final thoughts?

Thanks for the interview, always good to remember old stories. Wanted to send a hug to one of my best friends I made in CS, Eduardo “hrdNf” Rodrigues and Leonardo “dist” Cabral. A kiss for my girlfriend who is on my side answering these questions with me, I love you Victoria.

Overall, thanks for the space.

Now some words in Portuguese.

QUEM TOCA A BOLA É NOIS CARALHO

NTC.

Thank you, guys.

Signed by mibr | ton

Leave a comment